Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted on Jun 24, 2008 in Across the US, Activism, Beltway Politics, Campaign '08, Congress, Democrats, Party Politics, Spending

Cloture Vote on Housing Bill Passes; 9 Republicans Step Up to the Plate

Even though it was inevitable that the Democrats would get the cloture vote that Harry Reid was seeking on the Foreclosure Prevention Act of 2008 (aka: Housing Bailout Bill), I have to admit that I was quite surprised to see it get the overwhelming support that it did.

The final vote on H.R. 3221 was 83 yea’s, 9 nay’s, and then there were 8 member of the Senate who were either running for President, recovering from surgery, or simply didn’t want to show the American people that they had a pair and stand up for what is right.

Regardless of how this vote turned out, there are 9 members of the Senate who deserve our thanks and gratitude for standing up and speaking out against this horrible piece of legislation.

Senators who have a pair:


Senator John Barrasso, Wyoming

John Barrasso

Senator Christopher Bond, Missouri

Christopher Bond

Senator James Bunning, Kentucky

James Bunning

Senator Michael Crapo, Idaho

Michael Crapo

Senator Jim DeMint, South Carolina

Jim DeMint

Senator John Ensign, Nevada

John Ensign

Senator Michael Enzi, Wyoming

Michael Enzi

Senator Jon Kyl, Arizona

John Kyl

Senator David Vitter, Louisiana

David Vitter


And then there are those Senators who simply don’t get it:

Akaka (D-HI)
Alexander (R-TN)
Baucus (D-MT)
Bayh (D-IN)
Bennett (R-UT)
Biden (D-DE)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Burr (R-NC)
Byrd (D-WV)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Cochran (R-MS)
Coleman (R-MN)

Collins (R-ME)
Conrad (D-ND)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)

Craig (R-ID)
Dodd (D-CT)
Dole (R-NC)
Domenici (R-NM)
Dorgan (D-ND)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feingold (D-WI)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Gregg (R-NH)
Hagel (R-NE)
Harkin (D-IA)
Hatch (R-UT)
Hutchison (R-TX)
Inouye (D-HI)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johnson (D-SD)
Kerry (D-MA)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Kohl (D-WI)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
Lieberman (ID-CT)
Lincoln (D-AR)
Lugar (R-IN)
Martinez (R-FL)
McCaskill (D-MO)
McConnell (R-KY)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Murray (D-WA)
Nelson (D-FL)
Nelson (D-NE)
Pryor (D-AR)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Roberts (R-KS)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Salazar (D-CO)
Sanders (I-VT)
Schumer (D-NY)
Sessions (R-AL)
Shelby (R-AL)
Smith (R-OR)
Snowe (R-ME)
Specter (R-PA)

Stabenow (D-MI)
Stevens (R-AK)
Sununu (R-NH)

Tester (D-MT)
Thune (R-SD)
Voinovich (R-OH)
Warner (R-VA)

Webb (D-VA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wicker (R-MS)
Wyden (D-OR)



Blogs covering this:,0,2396621.story?track=rss

If you’re covering the post-cloture segments of the Housing Bailout Bill, let me know, I’d be more than happy to add your link to the list.