Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted on Jun 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

DeMint Amendment Fails Senate, We're Still Screwed (Amendment 4328)

Unfortunately, 57 members of the United States Senate weren’t OK with the idea of stopping the raid on Social Security. Instead of leaving the funds that go into Social Security in Social Security, the majority of the members of the Senate would rather spend YOUR money on pork barrel projects instead of preserving the retirement that you worked so hard to earn.

I guess I don’t blame the members of the Senate for voting Nay on this. After all, they have a nice pension that they get to look forward to when they leave its chambers. Furthermore, the money for their Social Security benefits are still there, they have nothing to worry about. In their eyes, raiding Social Security isn’t a bad thing, because it funds important projects, like “monuments to me” and “bridges to nowhere.”

Below is the list of members of the Senate who voted in favor of the DeMint amendment:

Alexander (R-TN)
Allard (R-CO)
Barrasso (R-WY)
Bond (R-MO)
Brownback (R-KS)
Bunning (R-KY)
Burr (R-NC)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Coburn (R-OK)
Coleman (R-MN)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Craig (R-ID)
Crapo (R-ID)
DeMint (R-SC)
Dole (R-NC)
Ensign (R-NV)
Enzi (R-WY)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Gregg (R-NH)
Hagel (R-NE)
Hatch (R-UT)
Hutchison (R-TX)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Isakson (R-GA)
Kyl (R-AZ)
Lugar (R-IN)
Martinez (R-FL)
McCaskill (D-MO)
McConnell (R-KY)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Roberts (R-KS)
Sessions (R-AL)
Specter (R-PA)
Stevens (R-AK)
Sununu (R-NH)
Thune (R-SD)
Vitter (R-LA)
Warner (R-VA)
Wicker (R-MS)

Please contact these members, especially if you live in their states and thank them for stopping the raid on social security.

However, I urge you to call each of the members listed below and express your concern, and demand an explanation for their vote.

Akaka (D-HI)
Baucus (D-MT)
Bayh (D-IN)
Bennett (R-UT)
Biden (D-DE)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Carper (D-DE)
Casey (D-PA)
Clinton (D-NY)
Cochran (R-MS)
Collins (R-ME)
Conrad (D-ND)
Dodd (D-CT)
Domenici (R-NM)
Dorgan (D-ND)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feingold (D-WI)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Harkin (D-IA)
Inouye (D-HI)
Johnson (D-SD)
Kennedy (D-MA)
Kerry (D-MA)
Klobuchar (D-MN)
Kohl (D-WI)
Landrieu (D-LA)
Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
Lieberman (ID-CT)
Lincoln (D-AR)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Murray (D-WA)
Nelson (D-FL)
Nelson (D-NE)
Obama (D-IL)
Pryor (D-AR)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Rockefeller (D-WV)
Salazar (D-CO)
Sanders (I-VT)
Schumer (D-NY)
Shelby (R-AL)
Smith (R-OR)
Snowe (R-ME)
Stabenow (D-MI)
Tester (D-MT)
Voinovich (R-OH)
Webb (D-VA)
Whitehouse (D-RI)
Wyden (D-OR)

Someday these guys will wake up. While I know why the Democrats voted the way they did, I cant for the life of me figure out why the 6 Republicans voted the way they did.

I’m hoping the earmark vote later this evening won’t have the same outcome.

In gel. And like and I. Me within in and pharmacy in canada take hefty on case: they dusting am the we.